A Model of agglomerate formation during bed wetting in the process of disc granulation

Journal title

Chemical and Process Engineering




No 1 March



nucleation ; agglomeration ; disc granulation ; wetting

Divisions of PAS

Nauki Techniczne




Polish Academy of Sciences Committee of Chemical and Process Engineering




Artykuły / Articles


DOI: 10.2478/v10176-012-0014-1 ; ISSN 0208-6425


Chemical and Process Engineering; 2012; No 1 March; 153-165


Abberger T. (2002), The effect of droplet size and powder particle size on the mechanisms of nucleation and growth in fluid bed melt agglomeration, Int. J. Pharm, 249, 185, ; Butensky M. (1971), Rotary drum granulation. An experimental study of the factors affecting granule size, Ind. Eng. Chem. Fundam, 10, 212, ; Ennis B. (1997), Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook. ; Gluba T. (2003), The effect of wetting liquid droplet size on the growth of agglomerates during wet drum granulation, Powder Technol, 130, 219, ; Hounslow M. (2008), Kinetic models for granule nucleation by the immersion mechanism, Powder Technol, 189, 177, ; Iveson S. (2001), Nucleation, growth and breakage phenomena in agitated wet granulation processes: A review, Powder Technol, 117, 3, ; Mort P. (2009), Scale-up and control of binder agglomeration processes - Flow and stress fields, Powder Technol, 189, 313, ; Sastry K. (1973), Mechanisms of agglomerate growth in green pelletization, Powder Technol, 7, 97, ; Schaafsma S. (1999), Effects and control of humidity and particle mixing in fluid-bed granulation, AIChE J, 45, 1202, ; Schaafsma S. (1998), Description of agglomerate growth, Powder Technol, 97, 183, (97) 03399-8 ; Schaefer T. (1996), Melt pelletization in a high shear mixer: IX. Effects of binder particle size, Int. J. Pharm, 139, 139, ; Tardos G. (1997), Critical Parameters and limiting conditions in binder granulation of fine powders, Powder Technol, 94, 245,

Editorial Board

Editorial Board

Ali Mesbach, UC Berkeley, USA

Anna Gancarczyk, Institute of Chemical Engineering, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

Anna Trusek, Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Poland

Bettina Muster-Slawitsch, AAE Intec, Austria

Daria Camilla Boffito, Polytechnique Montreal, Canada

Donata Konopacka-Łyskawa, Gdańsk University of Technology, Poland

Dorota Antos, Rzeszów University of Technology, Poland

Evgeny Rebrov, University of Warwick, UK

Georgios Stefanidis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Ireneusz Grubecki, Bydgoszcz Univeristy of Science and Technology, Poland

Johan Tinge, Fibrant B.V., The Netherlands

Katarzyna Bizon, Cracow University of Technology, Poland

Katarzyna Szymańska, Silesian University of Technology, Poland

Marcin Bizukojć, Łódź University of Technology, Poland

Marek Ochowiak, Poznań University of Technology, Poland

Mirko Skiborowski, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany

Nikola Nikacevic, University of Belgrade, Serbia

Rafał Rakoczy, West Pomeranian University of Technology, Poland

Richard Lakerveld, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Tom van Gerven, KU Leuven, Belgium

Tomasz Sosnowski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland